what are the 7 chakras and healing?

  • Home
  • Blog
  • what are the 7 chakras and healing?
September 13, 2022

How do chakras work?

Only recently, with the rise in popularity of yoga and New Age beliefs in general, have chakras become more widely known. They are a sophisticated, old energy system that have its roots in India. They first appear in the Vedas, age-old holy books of spiritual wisdom written between 1500 and 1000 BC. There is a lot to learn about them.

The word “chakra,” which translates to “disc” or “wheel” in Sanskrit, denotes the energy centres in your body. Each of these energy-spinning wheels or discs corresponds to a particular group of nerve fibres and large organ.

Your chakras must be open or balanced for optimal operation. You could feel emotional or physical symptoms linked to a specific chakra if they get blocked.

Your spine is lined with seven major chakras. They extend from the base, or root, of your spine to the top of your skull. However, other experts think your body has at least 114 distinct chakras.

How many chakras total are there?

Our bodies’ energy centres are known as the chakra system. There are seven main chakras, each of which is located along your spine in a certain place. Let’s take a closer look at each one.

Root chakra

At the base of your spine is the root chakra, or Muladhara. It gives you a base or foundation for life and makes you feel rooted and strong enough to face difficulties. Your sense of stability and security stems from your root chakra.

Sacral Chakra

Svadhisthana, the name for the sacral chakra, is situated immediately below the belly button. It is this chakra that controls your sexual and artistic energies. It also has to do with how you deal with your own and other people’s emotions.

Solar plexus Chakra

Your stomach region contains the solar plexus chakra, also known as the Manipura. It gives you self-assurance and self-worth, as well as a sense of control over your life.

Heart chakra

The Anahata, or heart chakra, is situated in the middle of your chest, close to your heart. The heart chakra is all about our capacity for love and compassion, which should come as no surprise.

Throat chakra

Your throat houses the throat chakra, or Vishuddha. This chakra is related to our capacity for vocal communication.

Third eye chakra

Between your eyes is where the third eye chakra, or Ajna, is situated. This chakra is responsible for your powerful gut feeling. That’s because intuition is controlled by the third eye. It is related to imagination as well.


Crown chakra

Your head’s crown chakra, also known as Sahasrara, is there. Your Sahasrara serves as a symbol of your karmic ties to the universe, other people, and yourself. It also affects the purpose of your life.

What does a chakra being blocked or out of balance mean?

A specialist in yoga medical therapy named Diane Malaspina, PhD, says she prefers to conceive of chakras as out of balance as opposed to obstructed.

She said that distinct effects could result from either a reduction in energy flow or an increase in energetic activity in a chakra.

She claimed that when a chakra is low on energy, it will be challenging for you to display the special traits that are related to that chakra.

According to Malaspina, when a chakra is overactive, its characteristics become the person’s primary force in life. Both physical and mental problems may result from this.

For instance, the first chakra is concerned with safety, survival, and the basis of our being.

Can your health be impacted by a blocked chakra?

According to Malaspina, the portions of your body that are close to the chakra that is out of balance may be impacted by its position.

Your nearby tissues, bones, joints, and organs are included in this.

According to her, emotional disorders can result from psychological imbalances in the chakras.

Increased rage, sadness, fear, or indecision may result from this.

According to qualified yoga teacher and master reiki healer Guadalupe Terrones, “It’s crucial to pay attention to both the psychological and physiological feelings since they can inform each other and identify the fundamental reason of the experience.”

According to Terrones, having too much stress can throw one or more chakras out of balance, whether it is physically or emotionally.

Posted in Uncategorized